Thursday, November 17, 2005

Thought for Food

I have been thinking about genetically modified foods, specifically their interaction with religious diets.

If scientists genetically altered shrimp to have fins and scales, would they become kosher? "These shall ye eat of all that are in the waters: whatsoever hath fins and scales in the waters, in the seas, and in the rivers, them shall ye eat." *

And what about rabbits? "And the hare, because he cheweth the cud, but divideth not the hoof; he is unclean unto you." Therefore genetically modified rabbits with cloven hooves would be OK?

2 comments:

clara* said...

well i'm guessing that soon there would be division on these foods, some (being thrilled to finally be able to eat them and technically be obeying) would embrace it and others would resist as they are wont to do.

we'd see new orders of religions crop up i'm guessing. and TONS of new restaurants.

Michelle K said...

My guess is that those who keep kosher wouldn't eat GM foods that had been modified to be something other than they were.

Spirit of the law versus letter of the law thing.

If turning on a light and driving a car are considered work, then a GM modified shrimp or rabbit ain't gonna cut it in G-d's eyes would be my guess.

Incidently, in a religion class I took, there was a small offshoot discussion about whether non-organic foods were actually Kosher, again the argument goes back to this spirit of the law versus the letter of the law--are non-organic products going against God's wish that we be good stewards of the Earth.

So another question might be are any kinds of GM foods considered Kosher?

Personally, I find the whole thing fascinating, and love considering questions like this.